Submissions Still Open for Lexus Design Award 2019


Amman, October 2018 - Emerging designers and creators have until Sunday 28 October, 2018, to submit their entries for the distinguished Lexus Design Award 2019. The worldwide design competition provides a valuable platform for creative talent from around the globe, whose innovative works ultimately lead to a better future for all. Now in its seventh year, the coveted award is being held under the inspiring call to action ‘Design for a Better Tomorrow’.

Yugo Miyamoto, Chief Representative, Middle East and North Africa Representative ‎Office, Toyota Motor Corporation, said, “We are delighted to launch the Lexus Design Award 2019. This international competition has been motivating talented emerging creatives to new heights of innovation for seven consecutive years. We look forward to getting inspired by this year’s entries, who are expected to anticipate, innovate, captivate and deliver groundbreaking solutions through designs that address the evolving needs of society and overcome challenges to design a better tomorrow.”

The creative ideas submitted are expected to incorporate three fundamental principles from the Lexus brand: ‘Anticipate’, ‘Innovate’ and ‘Captivate’. The designs should anticipate the needs of tomorrow’s society, offer innovative solutions and be capable of captivating and engaging the audience and esteemed judging panel.

The six contest finalists, who will be announced in early 2019, will each receive a production budget of up to JPY three million (over USD 26,000) to develop their ideas into functional prototypes. These models will be displayed at the prestigious Milan Design Week 2019, where they will compete for the Grand Prix.

Moreover, the six successful entrants will benefit from a once-in-a-lifetime mentorship on the road to Milan, offering unprecedented access to hands-on guidance from leading professionals, who will share their expertise throughout the production process and beyond. The award judges and mentors will be revealed in fall 2018. In previous years, they have included renowned figures such as Sir David Adjaye, Snarkitecture and Formafantasma.